Tejashwi Yadav-led alliance ahead in Bihar


(Riya Singh, Intern Journalist) Patna: The opposition Tejashwi Yadav-led opposition alliance in Bihar will win the most seats in Bihar and even cross the majority mark, with Chief Minister Nitish Kumar’s National Democratic Alliance (NDA) placing a distant second, an aggregate of opinion polls predicted on Saturday after three-phase voting completed in the state.

The Bihar results will be announced on Tuesday, November 10.

Any party or coalition needs 122 for a majority in the 243-seat Bihar assembly. A disclaimer- exit polls often get it wrong.

The third and final phase of assembly elections concluded today in Bihar in which stakes are quite high for Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, who is up against multiple rivals, including former ally Chirag Paswan. There was a 55.22 percent turnout in Phase 3 of the polls, the Election Commission said today. In the last elections in 2015, the total turnout was 56.66 percent. 

Prime Minister Narendra Modi made an appeal to voters to “set a new record” as polling began in the final phase. PM Modi, who attended 12 rallies during the campaign, had come out with an open letter addressed to the people of the state on Thursday saying he “needed” Nitish Kumar in the state so that the development of Bihar continued unhindered.

An estimated 54.1 percent of the 2.34 crore voters cast their votes till 5 pm in Bihar where 78 assembly segments of the 243-strong Bihar Assembly are voting today.